824 111th Drive
Horton, KS 66439
Phone: (785) 486-2131
Fax: (785) 486-2801

Programs

Health Center

Updated 9/2/2016

 

Mission

Our mission is to provide a health care system, which is responsive to the needs to the Kickapoo Tribe and Native American Tribes, and provide the best possible health care.

Vision

The vision of the Kickapoo Tribe in Kansas is to be recognized a model culturally sensitive community based Native American Health Care Provider. The Kickapoo Tribe shall endeavor to achieve this by continually improving the health of the Native American population or arranging for the highest quality services through imaginative utilization of all available resources. Our medical program requires a partnership between Kickapoo Tribe and the Health Center and all health care providers. The achievement of this partnership requires the education of all people involved, the enhancement of community relations, and maximization of environmental awareness and involvement.

Location:
1117 Goldfinch Rd.
Horton, Kansas 66436

Call (785) 486-2154 for an appointment. Appointments are highly recommended. Please make it known at time of scheduling your reason for appointment so that we can schedule accordingly.

Hours of Operation

OPEN: Monday through Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm
CLOSED FOR ADMIN TIME: Monday through Friday 11:30am to 1:00pm

Walk in Hours

Monday & Friday 8:00am to 10:00am
Tuesday through Thursday 1:00pm to 2:00pm

Walk-ins are subject to nurse triage and prioritized according to urgency needs. Patients with non-urgent needs will be asked to schedule an appointment.

Diabetes Clinic

Friday Afternoons

OB Clinic

2nd Thursday of each month
AM scheduling by appointment only

Dental Clinic

Tuesday Evenings & Friday Afternoons
Call (785) 486-2154 for an appointment. Dental services are by appointment only.
~ There is currently a waiting list for appointments.
 ~ Urgent / Emergent situations will be considered for fill in appointments and availability. Please call ahead.

CHR

Community Health Representatives transport clients for medical purposes only. At least 24 hours advanced notice should be given to schedule in your appointment for transport. The CHR service is only to be used when no other alternative transportation is available to you.

CHR Program Goals

Transportation Guidelines

Purchased / Referred Care

Medical/dental care provided at the Kickapoo Nation Health Center (KNHC) is called Direct Care. Purchased / Referred Care (PRC) is for medical/dental care provided away from the KNHC.  PRC is not an entitlement program and a medical referral does not imply the care will be paid. If KNHC PRC is requested to pay, then a patient must meet certain requirements for eligibility.

Eligibility Requirements

  1. Tribe Membership / Descendency
    Must be a member or descendent of a federally recognized tribe
  2. Residency
    Must reside and have lived for at least 180 days and within the KNHC PRC delivery area.
  3. Pre-Authorization / Notification
    Non emergent referrals need prior authorization and written by the KNHC Provider.  Notification for emergency referrals must be done within 72 hours of visit.  The exception for emergency is elderly or disabled, which have up to 30 days.
  4. Medical / Dental Priorities
    PRC Funds are limited to the medical or dental services considered medically necessary and listed within the established IHS medical / dental priorities.  An individual medical need at the time of services must be within the medical priorities being funded at that time.
  5. Alternative Resources
    An individual must apply for and use all alternative resources that are available and accessible.  An IHS facility is also considered a resource, and therefore, the PRC funds may not be expended for services reasonable accessible and available at an IHS facility.

For further details and specifics click below on the PRC Brochure or call PRC at (785) 486-2113

PRC Brochure

STAFF

Jolene Walters, B.S., M.S.W.
Health Director
Email: Jolene.Walters@ihs.gov
 
Dr. Jamie Jacobsen, M.D.
Physician
Email: Jamie.Jacobsen@ihs.gov
 
Paul Austin, Pharm D
Pharmacist
Email: Paul.Austin@ihs.gov
Pharmacy Hours: 9:00am to 11:30am and 1:00pm to 4:30pm
 
Heather Benton
Pharmacy Tech
Email: Heather.Benton@ihs.gov
 
Casey Lesmeister
Purchased Referred Care
Email: Casey.Lesmeister@ihs.gov  
Phone: (785) 486-2113
 
Allison Minshew
Coder / Credentialing
Email: Allison.Minshew@ihs.gov
 
LeAnn Brown
Medical Records / Receptionist
Email: Leann.Brown@ihs.gov 
 
Jacquelyn Urban
Billing Specialist / Receptionist
Email: Jacquelyn.Urban@ihs.gov
 
Tennille Forbes, R.N.
Project L.A.U.N.C.H.
Email: Tennille.Forbes@ihs.gov
 
Cindy Libel
L.P.N.
Email: Cindy.Libel@ihs.gov
 
Tiffany Lewis
Lead CHR / SDPI
Email: Tiffany.Lewis@ihs.gov
Phone: (785) 486-2822
 
Kenneth Milton
CHR / Janitor
Email: Kenneth.Milton@ihs.gov
 
Angelica Pearce
Behavior Health Therapist
Email: Pearce.Angelica@ihs.gov